Nuisance: Tues 7/26: Morning instructions at NJ-delegate hotel breakfast. I cast of the most important votes of my life. [Timestamped highlights]

Highlights from this video

0-3:45: “Vote for roll call when you pick up your credentials. There is no ballot.”

New Jersey Hillary superdelegate announcing brief roll call instructions, and then lists some of the extra “fun” activities available to delegates and others.

“Vote when you pick up your credentials. There is no ballot.”

She thanks George Norcross for his generosity in making these activities possible.

3:45: Pan of the breakfast conference room, on the third floor, at the New Jersey delegation hotel. Walking down to the credentials table on the second floor.

4:45-6:35: Table of campaign buttons for sale.

7:00-39:00: Waiting in line credentials and roll call. While waiting, three interviews with Hillary and Bernie delegates.

7:00: A tchotchke bag is handed to me.

7:15-11:05: Interview with Hillary delegate: “I didn’t expect so much division at this stage of the convention.”

She is from Westfall New Jersey, is likely a Hillary delegate, and her husband is the Essex County Clerk. Unknown name.

Jeff: “So what has your experience been so far at the DNC?”

Hillary delegate: “Crazy. I guess I didn’t expect so much division at this stage of the convention. But it’s good.”

Jeff: “What is your view of that? Some Hillary supporters are resentful of the booing and are saying ‘it’s over’.”

Hillary delegate: “I’m not resentful [of the Bernie protests]. I guess everyone is entitled to their opinion. But you figure, if Bernie endorsed her and dropped out of the race, then that’s kind of where we’re at.”

Jeff: “Well, he endorsed her, but he didn’t drop out of the race. I’m voting for him as soon as we get to the table. Will he likely win? No. But from my point of view, it’s the closure. This is my letting go of him.”

Hillary delegate: “Do you think it [this division, if all of these people vote for Bernie in the general] hurts. [That] it would allow Trump in? [That] it gives Trump advantage?”

Jeff: “I’m not Bernie or Bust, but I have a lot of friends who are Bernie or Bust. They’re in a really difficult position. They’re being blamed before it’s even happened. That if they don’t vote for Hillary, then they’re the cause of Trump. I personally think that’s not totally fair, because, what has the Democratic Party done to earn their vote? Did they leave the party or did the party leave them?

I’m absolutely passionate about Bernie.”

Hillary delegate: “Clearly”

Jeff: “I’m not Bernie or Bust, but I don’t see that she has worked very hard to earn my vote.”

Hillary delegate: “Just curious. I’m more neutral, I don’t have an extreme feeling either way.”

17:35-22:05: Aida Luz, A fellow Bernie delegate in my district.

She informs me of a 10 AM meeting (within the hour) with all New Jersey Bernie delegates and superdelegate John Wisniewski. This is the first I’ve heard.

Aida is a former Hillary supporter. She believes voting for Hillary is important to defeat Trump, but acknowledges much of the questionable activities during the election, and says that she would prefer Elizabeth Warren over Hillary.

24:40-29:05: Interview with Kristin Affrime: “I couldn’t be more privileged and honored to vote for Bernie Sanders”

Fran is the person who I had a conversation on the bus yesterday morning regarding the TPP. Kristen and Aida are both Bernie delegates in my same district in New Jersey.

25:10: Kristin:

I couldn’t be more privileged and honored to vote for Bernie Sanders, on behalf of everyone in New Jersey that stands behind Bernie, and on behalf of everyone that is not of age to vote yet that really feels the Bern. And everybody in this country. I know that Hillary will make a great leader, but I believe that Bernie has really set the stage, and said that we can all do this, and we can do whatever we want. And get involved in our local politics. I’m so inspired and I’m not going to give up the fight.

26:40: “My vote will be 100% anti-Trump. I’ll tell you that”

27:00: “Bernie supporters, don’t just stand there and complain. Be the change you want to see in this world.

Jeff: “Was Bernie or Bust ever a consideration for you?”

“I’ll be honest, it was. But when I think about what’s going to happen and the role of the president has to take, I stepped out of my comfort zone and I really removed myself to figure out what would be the best strategy for the country. And I think that it would be keeping a Democrat in office as President of the United States, leading this country that makes it so great.”

Jeff: “Anything else you would say to the people that you know or Bernie or busters?”

Listen, that is completely your choice. But honestly, this is a very important election. We cannot allow Trump to nominate our Supreme Court justices. We can’t allow him to destroy our jobs, to keep folks down, right? You need to hold your political appointees accountable. I mean, this is exactly what we’re doing with Hillary, with what’s going on right now. We are really making the progressive platform. So just keep it going.

Bernie supporters, you have to make sure you hold folks accountable. Run for your own office. Get involved in your own area. And don’t just stand there and complain. Be the change you want to see in this world.

Jeff: “So let me ask you from a different point of view. If Trump does win, do you blame the Bernie or Busters?”

“No no. I mean if Trump does win, that’s just a damn slap in the face to Americans everywhere. I don’t blame anybody except for the people that voted for him, and the people that didn’t go out and vote.”

Jeff: “a lot of the Bernie or Busters may not go out and vote.”

“You know what? If you want to go out and vote and write Bernie Sanders name in? Cool. Go out and vote.”

Jeff: “So as long as they go and vote, even if it’s for Bernie Sanders or Jill Stein, then that’s OK.”

“Yes. That’s it. Go out and vote.”

Jeff: “But if they don’t go out and vote, then you have a problem.”

“Absolutely. Absolutely.”

Jeff: “OK, that’s fair.”

29:05: interview with Ivan Wei, The youngest Bernie delegate in New Jersey, a Hispanic, and my hotel roommate.

Jeff: “Good morning my little roommate.” Laughs.

Jeff: “And the smallest delegate New Jersey?” Laughs.

Ivan:

It’s a little disheartening. I thought that there might be something off to sleep with a contested convention or whatever. I mean, all the ringing (?) That went on. But as the previous lady [Kristen] said, I might write him in. But there are a lot more people running in November, it’s not just president. And I am a big believer in bottom up anyway. I don’t think my not voting for her is going to affect her too much, but I’m definitely not voting for Trump. But if Trump, God for bid, is the president, I will be leaving. Probably go to Australia.

Kristen: Regarding leaving the country because of Trump or the transpacific partnership. “I’m not about to give up on my country. I can’t totally bail. I’m not ready to just up and leave. I have a home, I’ve built where I am today… I’ll visit, I’ll travel the world, but, you know, it’s America the beautiful, man. I’m totally happy.”

Ivan:

As a minority, I don’t think I’d be comfortable with Trump. [I’m Latino, Columbian, but when some people say Mexican, that actually mean all Central and South America.] I don’t want a wall built. I have family that is undocumented. I don’t want them to be more scared than they already are. So as a Latino and a person of color… I don’t know, I don’t know. I just can’t even [en] vision trumping president. Too scary of a thought. I’ll do everything I can to prevent that.

36:00: Finally voting! “Did I just mess up the most important vote of my entire life?!”

My signature spend a couple lines, and they said I signed on the wrong line. I didn’t. I only half seriously said, “Did I just mess up the most important vote of my entire life?!”

38:55: “Fran and Kristin, can I tell you something? I just voted for Bernie Sanders.”

Me too! Woo hoo. High five.

2 thoughts on “Nuisance: Tues 7/26: Morning instructions at NJ-delegate hotel breakfast. I cast of the most important votes of my life. [Timestamped highlights]”

Leave a Reply

