Nuisance: Tues 7/26: Michelle, crying: “I am so happy to see that you are not happy. It’s just gorgeous.”

Bernie Sanders delegates and their supporters have been struggling to communicate through all of the barriers placed between us.

Eric Beechwood, an independent Berniecrat, running in the 2016 general for Congress in New Jersey (who I met at the Pemberton Bernie Sanders campaign office, and is now working for Philly.FYI, who helped organize a lot of the protests at FDR Park and around the convention), wrote me the following on Monday night. He told me to look for protesters at the gate at FDR Park, when we arrive at the DNC on our state-delegation hotel shuttle bus.

As we arrive, we see a small amount of people behind the gates at FDR Park. It’s hard to make out. When we get off the bus, it is still hard to see people, but their chants are clear.

Jeff: “We see you! We hear you!”

We thought that was it. But as we walk in to go to security, someone notices that there are a lot more supporters at the end of the block, towards the corner of Broad and Pattison.

Their cheers are very clear, and as we see them, we give them a thumbs up in acknowledgement. It is an emotional release for both sides.

Michelle McFadden-DiNicola, a fellow New Jersey pledged delegate for Bernie Sanders, is crying.

I am overwhelmed. I’m overwhelmed. I can’t– They actually care. And there’s so many of you. There’s so many of you. I’m just overwhelmed. And, um, I’m losing it. I don’t know if it really, um, makes sense to my brain.

With everything, all the messages were getting as delegates, from the DNC, is that, just calm down, everything is cool, we are all going to unify. Hillary is great, everything is OK. And it’s going to be great, she’s the first woman President, you know?

I keep getting these messages, these, like, implicit messages, to just kind of be happy. Just be happy. And I’m so happy to see that you are not happy. I’m so happy that you’re angry with me, because I’m so angry.

I’m so proud of you for being out there. I know It’s not easy to get out there. You have families and jobs and other things to do. It’s just gorgeous. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

