Nuisance: Tues 7/26: #DNCWalkout part 2/2, and going to FDR Park to join our supporters.

This is #DNCWalkOut coverage part two. Go to part one.

(This is the fixed up version. The original, badly-out-of-sync version is at the bottom of the post.)

0-~33:00: The biggest mystery of the DNC: did Nina Turner invite Bernie delegates to march with her down Broad Street?

I unsuccessfully investigate whether or not Nina Turner has truly invited Bernie delegates to March with her down Broad Street. A Bernie delegate announced this sometime during the previous livestream (unsure if I captured it on film), but after confirming this with my Citizens’ Media TV partner, Adryenn, she personally texted Nina, who responded “It’s not true.”

I interview the delegate who announced this at 11:55 in this video. His name is Jeff from Vermont, who states that Shyla Nelson got this information from Nina. I do believe that Shyla has a direct connection to Nina, so I don’t know what to believe.

My concern is that delegates will be going to a March that does not exist, or at the very least dividing the delegation up due to conflicting information.

I have not yet had a chance to follow up with what actually happened, if anything. All I know is that some delegates traveled by Subway to City Hall, missed the march, and traveled back to FDR Park. I never heard positive or negative about Nina Turner being involved, nor about the March itself.

0: I ask Josh Fox if he would be willing to confirm this confusion with Nina Turner, and he says that he will check it out. He walks away abruptly without giving a method of communicating that result to me.

8:35: Jordan Chariton from TYT interviews Jeff, the Vermont delegate I refer to above.

1120, Jordan asks about the March with Tina Turner.

11:55: I discuss this issue with that delegate.

13:13: Jeff states that Shyla is there spokesperson, and he will check with her. I never hear anything about it.

15:35: Black Lives Matter activist: “The revolution motherfucking continues!”

Black lives matter activist, using a “mic-check” call and response, announces the march down Broad Street with Nina Turner, instructing people to take the subway to join.

16:05: NJ delegates, Richard and Diane

17:00: Diane: “I am torn, because as a Bernie delegate, if I behave badly, I make Bernie look bad.”

Diane acknowledges all of the injustices that of been done against Bernie Sanders, but is conflicted because “Bernie has already directed us to behave the right way.”

18:10: I play a stupid-but-funny joke on Richard.

Richard: “I am Richard MacFarlane from New Jersey, and I have something to say.”

I point the camera at him. He says “This is what I have to say: I–“. I pan the camera away and say “Thanks Richard.” Laughter.

Richard predicts that upcoming elections will not have “rigged elections, which they do so blatantly”, because of social media–as is broadcasting him as he says these words. “They can’t get away with it anymore.”

19:10: Richard: “I didn’t know it [the walk out] was going to happen… It wasn’t a matter of wanting to participate or not. I saw 2,000 people walking out of the building, and it seemed like the most interesting thing going on at that exact second.”

Richard: “When you take a group of people and you treat them like this, they are going to react in ways that are, A, unpredictable, and B, you don’t want them to react. This is just a little social experiment that the Democratic Party has been having. But it didn’t work out the way they expected it to.”

20:10: Diane’s views on the walk out: “We didn’t just like Bernie Sanders, we loved him.”

There were quite a few that stayed. But there were quite a few that walked out…

Bernie has been very clear, he has directed us to represent him well. On the other hand I understand what they’re doing. These are young people and they’re very upset.

And quite honestly I think we need to go through the process of grief because we didn’t just like Bernie Sanders, we love him. And him not winning is like the very best in us is not going to go forward.

But we have a responsibility to Bernie to make sure that that very progressive platform is acted upon, because currently it’s just words. But if and when Hillary gets elected, who will hold her accountable? It won’t be Republicans, it won’t be her followers. It will be the Bernie people.

22:35: Jeff: “Maybe it was ‘rude and disrespectful’ of them to do that, but is that as important as why they are doing it?”

23:00: Diane:

Their ideas have been trampled on. I’m a little bit older and maybe I’m desensitized. I’ve seen this happen before.

Most of the people in this walkout are really young. I feel that if I walk out, then the party doesn’t have the counterbalance that it needs.

24:40: Back to the Nina Turner controversy. Briefly interviewed by Fox news about it.

27:05: Gotcha-interview by Fox News, with the delegate I was just talking to. Roger Ailes directly insults him. He handles it all gracefully.

29:25: Delegate: “[Roger Ailes just] called me a dirty hippie, and I called him a capitalist pig.”

Yes, really. That Roger Ailes. Ailes is never caught on video, but you can hear the beginning of his interruption at 29:00. Unfortunately, the audio cuts out at this moment, but it may be in the original, unsynced video.


full-res

With Robert Shearer. full-res

Question script. full-res

31:15: I meet CA delegate Robert Shearer in person for the first time, after interviewing him on the phone on Saturday afternoon.

32:10: Delegates standing in solidarity with fists in the air and take over their mouth’s in front of the press tent, holding a banner “#BS 2016”.

32:55: Things are starting to die down.

I walk into the press tent and see Shyla Nelson on the phone.

I also see Vermont delegate Jeff, and conclude that even if The march with Nina Turner is not true, the destination of that March is directly across the street, so my concerns are generally alleviated.

35:40: I decide to go to FDR Park. I join Shyla and other members of the Vermont delegation.

37:20: Kitty and Sara join us. Kitty was also on the superdelegate effort with Shyla and me.

37:30: I give Kitty a big hug.

37:30: Sara Long: “Extremely pissed off woman and Latino. I’m done and going to FDR Park. Goodbye.”

Sara Is an ex-Sanders campaign staffer, Michigan delegate, and super volunteer. She was a substitute director at my Campaign office in Pemberton New Jersey for a day.

38:00: Kitty and Shyla meet in person for the first time.

38:40: We head off to FDR Park from the press tent. Thanks and pleasantries are shared between the delegates and the police.

44:55: Brief interview with the organizer for Coalition of the 57 (representing the fifty states and seven territories in the primaries)

The goal of this organization is to communicate again monks all the delegations to create our own version of unity.

46:00: Yahoo! News’ coverage of the walk out: “The roll call went smoothly and few no signs of protest… A few Sanders delegates walked out”

The party appeared to unify after a fractious start to the convention Monday….There were a few signs of protests from the Sanders’ supporters, but far less than Monday’s…a few Sanders delegates walked out I had of the final rollcall, and a delegate held up a sign that said ‘rigged’ as Nevada cast its vote.

46:55: Delegates estimate the amount of those participating in the walk out.

47:30: A glimpse of the picture showing many red empty seats.

47:50: Discussion with @bhatanyreport reporter who recorded the beginning of the walk out, with the Wells Fargo Center in the background.

49:10: Jeff: “That was Roger Ailes?! That was fucking Roger Ailes.”

Reporter: “He may be a pig [referring to the insult lobbed him by delegate], but he was there at least.”

51:20: Jeff: “Okay FDR Park peeps. I’m coming… I want to big hug from everyone.”

54:00: Crossing the street by going up two blocks, through an opening in the security gate, and then back two blocks.

With Kitty.

47:50: A shot of the lights of Center City in the distance.

58:25: Kitty reads from an article of the walkout by the Associated Press.

The article acknowledges “a large group” walked out.

59:55: Kitty describes what Bernie Sanders actually said at the end of roll call, which triggered the walk out.

1:00:30: our first glimpse of the march down Broad Street–although I believe this is a different March then was referred to by the delegates.

There are helicopters close overhead.

As I learned afterwards, this is when the Bernie supporter March encounters the Black Lives Matter March underneath the Route 76 overpass. Black Lives Matter unsuccessfully attempted to enter the highway and block traffic. I did not know any of this at the time.

1:01:36: A supporter from the streets describes the scene: “This is something different. This is angry.”

He clarifies that this is not Nina’s March. “Be careful. they are planning on trying to take down the fence.” Potentially referring to Black Lives Matter?

1:02:45: Lots of people. Not really a March, but lots of people holding signs.

We are on Broad Street, walking back south towards Pattison Avenue the intersection where the entrance of FDR Park is. A diagonal entrance at the southwest corner.

Kitty and I start to see a lot of people with signs and walking around.

1:03:00: The first sign I see is a large banner: “Hillary has blood on her hands.” Pretty blurry.

1:04:15: “I’m going to get a little bit away from the ‘Fuck the police’ people.”

14:55: We start to see a March. “Black lives matter! Black lives matter!” Our best estimation is 4,000 people. I didn’t know it at the time, but Meira, the person I encounter below, is right behind Kitty.

1:05:40: “What do we want?! Justice! When do we want it?! Now!”

1:06:05: Kitty: “I think whoever is in there [still in the Wells Fargo Center] is protesting Bill Clinton, because he deserves To be. But I can’t. I can’t stand to look at his face.”

1:07:05: A pallet of cold, bottled, much appreciated water.

1:07:38: A view of the pallet.

1:07:45: Reunion with Jordan from Philly.FYI/Philly Awakening.

1:09:00-1:09:35: Brief glimpse of Vermin Supreme from New Hampshire. Runs as a presidential candidate every election, and where’s a long black rubber boot as a hat. Kitty described him.

1:09:05: “Banks got bailed out! We got sold out!”

1:09:35: Much clearer view of the crowd. Now in the middle of the March.

1:09:55: Jeff: “What. A. Day! It’s a revolution. Buckle up!”

1:10:30: Chants fade down, Singing fades up: “We are in this together. Yeah yeah. We the people! We the people! We the people!”

1:11:25: Kitty is standing in her long red dress, smiling, hands raised with peace signs.

1:12:10: I’m live streaming someone live streaming me.

1:12:25: Regarding Black Lives Matter: “We had a fantastic little head on collision, so we came back.”

Spontaneous Bernie March (“Pro Bernie, anti-Hillary”) started from FDR Park and going north on Broad, encountered a Black Lives Matter March (the man mistakenly says it was a Black Men for Bernie March).

Jill Stein is leading the March. We don’t see her.

1:13:40: “Jill not hill!”

1:14:00: Emotional reunion with Meira Marom, a super-volunteer from New York, and Bard for Bernie (Suess for Sanders), who wrote a poem on Facebook about Bernie Sanders, every single day during the campaign.

I never saw her in person. We worked together on The superdelegate effort with Shyla, Kitty, and Ron. I recognize her immediately. She has actually been behind me for five minutes.

“Meira?”

Meira: “Oh my God.”

Hugs.

Jeff: “I recognized you. So good to see you. I just left Shyla.”

1:15:00: Jill Stein is about to speak in the distance. Can’t see her. Can barely hear her. Lots of cameras and lights on her.

1:16:00: “Bullhorn for Jill!”

1:17:00: Jill starts to use the bullhorn. People cheer.


full-res

full-res

1:17:15: Interesting view of a big yellow flag being waved, Camera pointing straight up in the air.

1:18:40: Jill continues to speak, clearly now, but I can see nothing but a wall of people and lights and cameras.

1:20:50: Meira talks about visiting Shyla in Vermont,

“So what brought you down here?”

A year-long dedication and devotion to the movement… We are the ones we’ve been waiting for…

I am Bernie or Bust. I’m probably going to vote for Jill Stein. But of course I’m going to vote. Absolutely. Absolutely.

And of course we need to change Congress too. And when we go to vote we are also going to be picking members of Congress…and voting third-party does not mean not voting. It doesn’t mean voting for Trump. It means voting for our conscience.

She and her friend are both holding a tombstone saying “Democracy: Slain by fraud: 2016.”

1:22:35: Caitlin from Seattle: “… And I’m doing this for my daughter, so she never has to know about voting for the lesser of two evils.

Holding a Bernie or Bust sign. “She’s 11 years old and she is so proud of me for being here.”

1:24:25: Jeff, responding to a live stream viewer: “Hi Laurel. I am being very careful. See all the police who are here to protect me? I am being very careful.”

Police were standing right next to me, Already in frame, before I started saying that.

1:24:30: Clearing up misconceptions of all the police at the walk out. Fears that they were there to prevent delegates from leaving or reentering the building. They were only there in anticipation of something happening. Nothing did.

1:25:55: Moshi O’Connor, from New York, sister of a Bernie delegate from Connecticut. The other one holding a tombstone.

Tough couple of days… This whole thing was rigged. Bernie was robbed… It stings and it hurts. He ran a clean campaign… He definitely lit a fire inside of me, and I’m going to keep on fighting.

I am Bernie or Bust. I will be voting for that warrior woman over there, Jill Stein. Dr. Jill Stein.

1:28:00: Meira talks about how meaningless the DNC public apology to Bernie is, since they’re not going to do anything about it. No revote. No investigation.

Jeff: “Using ‘sorry’ as an excuse to do whatever you want.”

1:29:20: The entrance of FDR Park (the sign), and lots and lots of police. Presumably many having exited the park since it is near curfew time.

1:30:10: Talking with the police officer, who I’m not putting on camera, about being able to stay in the park overnight. Originally there was resistance from the Philly government about doing so, but this police officer says that people are welcome to pitch a tent and sleep over.

This was a point of contention between my organization, Philly.FYI and the Philadelphia government. It is a relief to hear him say this. This is a very big concession that we fought for.

1:33:50: Meira and I talk about Ron Suarez, who we worked with together on, with Shyla.

1:34:50: Meira: Seen on Twitter: “If the Bernie or Buster movement stop their childish behavior, we will CONSIDER (all caps) consider forgiving us for our rowdy ways.”

1:35:40: Baby being carried in a chest-front carrier.

1:37:25-1:42:05: Emotional reunion with Eric Beechwood.

Eric and I have been struggling to create a connection between Bernie supporters and delegates. In a way we failed today, but as you’ll see tomorrow, we ended up having an even bigger success (article coming…).

1:42:25-1:46:00: Ashley Perkins, Bernie delegate from Connecticut, at the end of an interview. Then we talk.

“I spoke to Rosario Dawson for an hour. An hour! She is so down to earth.”

Addressing the concern that the walkout would result in our credentials would be stripped for the rest of the convention. “I don’t think they would strip our credentials and then say ‘Vote for Hillary’. I don’t think that makes that much sense.”

1:46:30: Ooh ooh ooh peace singing group. Bizarre and beautiful experience. Directly in the middle of the Broad and Pattison intersection.

Holding melting candles with small white paper plates for the dripping wax.

Over the course of five minutes this group, with new additions, gradually surrounds me (and other livestreamers) in a circle.


full-res

full-res

full-res

“We’re the ones we’ve been waiting for. We’re the ones we’ve been waiting for.”


full-res

full-res

full-res

full-res

“one love.”


full-res

full-res

“We are the ones.”


full-res

full-res

Sign: “Bombing for peace is like fucking for virginity.”


full-res

full-res

Sign: “FREE HUGS”

“Everybody sing.”

Eric describes the situation.

1.54:50: They sit.


full-res

full-res

1:55:20: Reunion with Jamhar. We had some tension working together at Philly.FYI, but it’s genuinely nice seeing him.


full-res

full-res

Help me fix the original video, please.

As described in this question-post, after the first five minutes in the original version of this video, the video track goes badly out of sync with its audio track. I don’t know how to fix this, and I need help. I think the above “fixed” video could be a lot better, with potentially some of the dropped audio (like Roger Ailes) restored. If you know how to do this, please contact me or leave a comment below. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

