Nuisance: Tues 7/26: #DNCwalkout part 1/2. Bernie Sanders’ concession triggers mass walkout of 500-1,200 delegates. Heavy police presence. [Timestamped highlights]

This is #DNCWalkOut coverage part one. Go to part two.

Highlights from this video

0-5:05: Delegates stream into the hallway and out the door with chants.

  • “Walk out! Walk out!”
  • “Tell me what democracy looks like! This is what democracy looks like!”
  • “Feel the Bern! Feel the Bern!”

Many different Bernie signs. many phones and cameras. A woman wearing red in a wheelchair. Some people with tape or gags over their mouths.

I was up in the main hallway when this happened. I did not witness Bernie Sanders’ concession speech, nor did I choose to walk out. I was swept up in a massive crowd of Bernie delegates streaming up out of the bowl and into the hallway through their various corridors.

3:20-5:00: “We’re walking out. Democracy died today. Everything good died.”

Jeff: “can you tell us what happened?”

Distraught woman Nevada delegate:

Yeah. We’re walking out. Democracy died today. Everything good died. It was all rigged. It was horrible. Not all, but a lot of us are. A lot of us from Nevada are…

All the WikiLeaks documents that show what we always knew about the DNC cheating. I saw it on the national, state, regional, the local level for the whole year that I was working on the Bernie campaign. Full-time as a volunteer and then as a staffer. It’s a total heartbreak. And I feel like democracy has been dying, and it was killed today.

I still believe in Bernie, but I don’t know what he did. I don’t understand what he did. I still believe in him and his integrity, but I can’t deal with this anymore.”

Jeff: “Did he do something?”

He basically dispensed with the nominating process and just said, ‘That’s it. Let’s nominate Hillary’. I believe in his integrity, but he also taught to follow and stand for what we believe in.

And I can not in anyway ever support Hillary. And I am so sick of the Democratic Party! I’ve been a democrat since I was 18 and I’m 54, and I can’t stand this shit anymore!

5:05-8:30: “Silent stand in, at the press tent.”

A young woman delegate is directing people “Silent standing at the Press Tent.”

Jeff: “who decided that?”

Delegate: “We came together the delegation, a few of us, and decided.”

She sees the Citizens’ Media TV press pass around my neck.

“And I’m not commenting to the media at the moment.”

She walks away. I am caught off guard.

Jeff: “I’m actually a Bernie delegate.”

Delegate: “Oh yeah? Sorry. I saw a press pass.”

Jeff: “No problem. I’m not officially sanctioned by the DNC, but I am a Bernie delegate.”

Delegate: “Our voices have not been heard, and we’re going to make them heard now. That they have silenced us and not given us the time of day to speak. And we won our voices heard.”

Jeff: “What did he just say inside? I was not there.”

(She shows and vulnerability. “I feel like a dingbat”)

Delegate: “He basically said, ‘Thank you. I move to suspend the rules, and nominate Hillary as the Democratic nominee.’ ”

Jeff: “What does that mean suspend the rules?”

Delegate: “Skip the ending process… As far as my understanding goes. And I’m just a 19-year-old kid, I don’t have a best grasp of these things possible.”

Jeff: “So what was the alternative for him?”

Delegate: “I don’t think there was much of an alternative for him. He could have said, Thanks, let’s wait till they count everything, and get the official total…”

9:05: “Because I am Princess Lea and Bernie is our only hope.”

Continuing to walk throughout the crowd outside of the press tent.

Female Bernie delegate from San Diego, California, dressed up as Princess Leah.

“Why are you dressed as Star Wars?”

“Because I am Princess Lea and Bernie is our only hope.”

11:00: Serious, overwhelming police presence.

Approximately five heavily armed secret service officers, including a K-9 dog. Approximately 20 State police officers on the side of the press tent, between it and the Wells Fargo Center entrance (where the delegates exited).


full-res

full-res

full-res

(And as I discovered the next day, lots of snipers.)

At the moment the press tent is not fronted by police. Media and delegates are starting to swarm on the outside of the press tent, with many on the inside ready to do a silent protest.

12:30: “Bernie peacekeepers” being interviewed.

“We are peacekeepers. We want to make sure that our delegates and our Bernie volunteers from across the nation make it home safe. And we’re doing our best to de-escalate any conflicts. And to make sure that this event is a peaceful event. Because that’s what we believe most of all is peace, and we are in a fight to save our planet.”

13:10: “They can’t treat us like a four letter word that starts with an S and ends with a T.”

Interview with older woman, Stating how Bernie is the one who could’ve united the country and Bernie is the one that could’ve beaten Trump.

They can’t treat us like a four letter word that starts with an S and ends with a T. And then, every time we try to do something, they would scream ‘Unity! Unity!’

And when the New York delegates met, they wouldn’t follow Roberts rules of order, they wouldn’t let us vote, they wouldn’t let us make motions. It wasn’t democratic. And when we’d start to yell anything, they would scream “unity!’.

And the worst thing is that a guy that wasn’t even a delegate, he shouldn’t of even been there, he hit a young lady with a cane. We have it on video, We know his name, we know her name. She filed a police report, and none of the major media [picked it up]. The guy that left at the chair got reported up one side and down the other, Because he was a Bernie supporter. The guy that hit our delegate with the cane [shrug]. So what?

14:45: I review what’s happened.

“Bernie Sanders basically unofficially lost. And instead of going through the process so it would be an official thing. That they would officially go through the count and do the ceremony. That he said, We are done. I concede. Hillary has one. So people seem to be upset that, we just wanted to go through the whole process. We wanted to have the closure. That’s as best as I understand it.

I’ll be honest, I don’t agree with this walk out. I’m with Senator Sanders. I’m OK with him doing this. But that seems to be the sentiment of what’s going on.

(I’m missing the bigger picture of voter fraud and being minimized and disrespected throughout the campaign.)

15:40: Philadelphia police are starting to line the outside of the Press tent, forbidding people from entering or leaving it.

Press is starting to clamber around the outside of the press tent, focusing their cameras on the inside.

Dual interview with BYE Idaho, college tv reporters. Philadelphia police are starting to line up on the outside and inside of the press tent glass front wall.

19:03: BYE Reporter: “I’m Canadian, so I can’t vote. I’m super neutral. I think it’s great that they’re protesting, I just hope it doesn’t get out of hand.”

20:40: Second youngest Bernie delegate (in the country?): “The fucking democratic party chair just resigned, and they have not apologized or said anything to us.”

Daniel Carter, Bernie delegate from Saint Augustine Florida, “the oldest city in America”.

“We did lose. And I will be voting for Hillary Clinton in November, But I will not be volunteering for her, I won’t won’t be all out for her like I am for Bernie Sanders. She is a far better candidate than Donald Trump in my opinion. That’s my opinion and I don’t want him to be president. I am a young black African-American, And he is scary. What he will do to our country, I don’t want that.”

He confirms that part of what is making these protesters upset is the lack of closure. That Bernie Sanders short-circuited the process and arguably didn’t let it go all the way to the end as he promised.

22:35: Daniel Carter discusses what Black Lives Matter means to him. (FYI, the Wells Fargo Center is in the background)

24:10: Brief interview of me with Rowan University student reporter

26:40: Police officer outside of the press tent: “Give us some time. Give us some time. You got your credentials. Once we clear everything’s good, you can go right back in.”

He reassures that no equipment is being vandalized and cops are on the inside protecting everything, and that no problems are occurring.

Officer: “Give us some time. Give us some time. You got your credentials. Once we clear everything’s good, you can go right back in.”

27:45: Cameras swarm around Chris Pompelli, so-called Bernie delegate: “These people are useful tools of Donald Trump!!”

Chris Pompelli, a self described, so called Bernie Sanders delegate from Kansas, yelling in anger about the delegates that walked out. Cameras and media swarm around him.

I will stand with the Democratic party because that’s what Democrats do!

Democrats will stand with Hillary Clinton. They will stand with Bernie Sanders, who is standing with Hillary Clinton!

They are betraying their voters back home. They are betraying Bernie Sanders.

[The democratic voters] want you to walk out on your party. Is that what they want? You are betraying your party, you should go home. It’s time for you to give up your credentials and go home.

If they are going to be betraying this party, they do not belong here.

Jeff: “What is their point of view? What are they upset about?”

Pompelli: “Because they didn’t get their way.”

Jeff: “What is their point of view?”

“I think their point is that they didn’t understand the process and they are betraying their voters back home… They are saying we don’t want to be part of he process, so I’m going to take my marbles and go home, and I’m going to hand the election to Donald Trump. Shame on them.”

I’m very disappointed with how I handled him. Wish I had the chance to do it again.

34:00: “Bernie was threatened with all his committee positions”

34:59: I finally get my head together, and respond to the so-called Bernie delegate’s criticisms.

People can say that they [the Bernie delegates who chose to walk out] are betraying the party. People can say that they are supporting Trump. But they do not feel that. And if you don’t go in there and ask them what they are feeling, what their point of view is–you can say you’re the Democratic Party and everybody’s inclusive, but until you know what they are feeling, until you know what they want? You can say, these petulant children, like this gentleman over here was saying (despite being a Bernie delegate, which I don’t get). These people have valid points of view.

38:55: Walking down the police line on the outside of the press tent, there are also police lining the inside of the window of the press tent.

41:25: Interview with Vermont delegate Shyla Nelson, who seconded Bernie Sanders’ nomination on the DNC stage, and then joined the walkout Minutes later.

Shyla has been one of my mentors throughout the campaign. I worked with her on two major projects.

44:50: Jeff, crying: “First of all, when you said the words ‘Bernie Sanders’ on stage, that was one of the most emotional moments of the campaign for me, so thank you. And it’s been great working with you.”

Shyla gives an overview of the motivations for the walkout, and her part in organizing it. She says its larger than just wanting closure. It’s about systemic issues.

48:45: Ron Suarez joins us. Ron, Shyla, and I all worked together on a major effort that ended up going nowhere, but was historical and exhilarating none-the-less.

Ron discusses his experiences as a critical person in Occupy Wall Street.

He has children who are 1%-ers and big Hillary supporters, asked him to talk to Hillary supporters at the DNC for the sake of unity.

55:40: Ron and I discuss the Superdelegate legal challenge effort.

Jeff: “Even though it petered out, without explanation, for a long while there, we were doing one of the more exciting things that I have ever been involved with.”

56:45: Ron: “For me, that’s what being part of the movement is all about. Feeling like you’re part of something.”

Ron ran the Superdelagate effort website. He talks about his involvement in Occupy Wall Street, and how the software companies he created were sold for millions, but treated his employees with dignity.

59:40: Ron: “I want to put NGP-VAN out of business.”

1:01:05: People sitting on the ground with electrical tape on their mouth, fists in the air, holding and wearing Bernie gear, surrounding a message taped on the ground: “VOTE FRAUD”


full-res

full-res

full-res

1:03:10: Silent stand in behind the glass wall, which is the front of the press tent.

Jeff:

There’s a very third world feeling about this. Like a refugee camp, where the only contact you can have with those on the other side is fingertips through the gate.

1:03:40: Kitty is a visual symbol of the DNC Bernie protests.

Photo from this article.

Behind her is Amanda, PA Bernie delegates. Have worked with them throughout the primaries.


full-res

full-res

full-res

1:06:50: I see Michelle (the one crying when we saw the FDR Park supporters across the street) on the other side of the glass.

I put my fingers in a peace sign up to the glass, in hopes to come as close to touching those on the other side as possible.


full-res

full-res

1:09:06: Clearer picture of lines of state police on the side.

Leave a Reply

