Nuisance: Wed 7/27: Finally! Bernie Sanders delegates meet their supporters at FDR Park. [Timestamped highlights]

(This is part one. Part two: Kerith and I sit in the grass and talk with our supporters.)

All week long, Bernie Sanders supporters in FDR Park have been struggling to communicate with their delegates at the Wells Fargo Center across the street. Although some of us (delegates) could see supporters from a distance, as we entered the convention center yesterday morning, it was not enough. Rumors were making their way across the street unchecked, and delegates felt alone and like nuisances in the Wells Fargo Center.

This event is our finally doing something about it. It was organized by me, Eric Beechwood, and Dicky Wurfel.

Highlights from this video

0: Dicky Wurfel, Senior Adviser on Philly.FYI, and the person who personally paid for this main stage production, introduces us.

0:45: Supporter: “What happened in there?!”

Jeff: “Our goal today is not to talk to you, our goal today is to answer your questions. So we’re going to introduce ourselves quickly, and then get right to your questions.”

Supporter: “We have lots of questions.”

Here is an alternative view of the same event, by the Sane Progressive.


full-res

full-res

full-res

Many of the pledged Bernie Sanders Delegates on stage:


full-res Jeff Epstein from NJ

full-res Wayne Lewis from NJ

full-res Richard MacFarlane from NJ

full-res Kerith Strano-Taylor from PA

full-res Rob O’Connell from MO

full-res Jill from GA

full-res Gina from IN, Miquel Rodriguez(?) from CA, Saleed(?) from GA.

full-res Michelle McFadden-DiNicola from NJ

full-res James Pinard(?) from MA

full-res Jamie Brennon

full-res Kalilah and her father Andy, from ND

full-res Ann (Pelton?) from NC-10

1:45: Jeff, emotional: “I have been seeing you from across the street and it has been beautiful. So thank you.”

2:40: Kerith, from Pennsylvania, Berniecrat running this November in the general in PA-5:

“I need to tell you, that barefoot in this park is been the happiest I’ve been in three days.”

3:05: Rob: “…and I am Bernie or Bust I love all of you guys.” Laughs.

3:30: Gina from Indiana. White hat, light blue shirt with short sleeves:

“You are keeping the faith alive inside, so thank you. I walked out of the convention tonight, and I am not going back.”

3:55: Miguel Hispanic/Lebanese? from Los Angeles:

I am a lifelong democrat, and my and my wife’s registrations were switched. “Talk about disenfranchisement? You want my vote, you should’ve counted it the first time. I will spend the rest of my life battling the party. And we’re going Green… You guys are so beautiful.”

4:40: Saleed, member of Black Lives Matter, organizer for Fight for $15, Field Organizer for for the Democratic Party “mostly because Bernie Sanders”. From Georgia:

“Power to the people!”

6:20: Jill from congressional district 10 in Georgia. Licensed clinical social worker and part-time faculty member at some university. Wearing pink, long brown hair, glasses on top of her head:

Like many of you, I’ve always been a voter, but Bernie called me into the political process… I want you guys to know that it was very, very tough in that room. And there were times that I had to really hold on to [the fact that] I was representing 15,000 folks in Georgia, and 13 million voters across the United States.

Due to the orchestrated camera shots I’m not sure what you were able to see, but I hope you were able to see us and feel us. And know that we made our voices heard on Monday night.

7:35: Michelle from Middlesex County, New Jersey. Ran with Bernie on the ballot in NJ to give him a better spot:

“I’m filming you guys. I’m so proud to show everybody how gorgeous you look…

I am lucky to be a delegate. I feel like every single last one of you earned it just as much as I did. I know you’re treating us like celebrities–”

Supporters: “Because you are!! Because you are!!”

9:05: Jeff tells the story of yesterday morning’s encounter. Unfortunately when I say Michelle’s line, “I am so happy that you are not happy”, the video briefly cuts out as I switch the camera view. The crowd laughs and cheers.

Michelle: “Amen! Amen. Because There are far too many Americans that are complacent…” Emotional: “Stay fucking mad! Never stop never stop!”

10:00: Crowd chants: “Never stop!”

10:20: Chant: “We. Are. The 1900!”

11:10: James from central Massachusetts: “I’ve spent the last 10 years of my life working as a mental health counselor for children, including for LGBTQ kids in crisis transition. And this party has nothing to say about that currently. And I’m a little upset about that.”

13:00: Jamie from FL-23, Debra Wasserman Schultz’s district. Orange sleeveless shirt with buttons. Shoulder length brown hair:

“Sometimes I think the empty chairs in that room will speak louder…”

14:10: Kalilah, Native American from North Dakota, and her father, Andy, late 60’s? Yellow shirt, red suspenders, carved wooden cane.

“When we got off the bus and we’re heading into the convention, we heard you. Thank you.”

Crowd: “Thank you!!”

14:45-35: Andy was “supposed” to talk for two minutes, but ended up talking for 20. It was stressful for me but exactly what the crowd wanted.

This was very stressful for me as the MC, but beautiful for the audience, many of whom stood entranced, some of whom by the end were crying uncontrollably.

I felt it was important to get through the delegate introductions, to get to supporter questions as quickly as possible. We were given a total of 45 minutes. But each of the few times that I/we tried to stop him, people in the audience got very upset, referring to the centuries of genocide committed against his people, and they wanted him to take as much time as he needed.

My video does not focus on Andy’s speech, as much as it does on my trying to manage the situation. A better source for his speech would be at the 15 minute mark in The Sane Progressive’s broadcast of this same event.

Andy: “Bernie Sanders speaks to my heart, and he loves indigenous people.”

17:00: I tried to stop him, the audience wanted more.

Supporter: “Let him speak! As long as he needs!”

Jeff: “OK. As long as it’s what you want.”

Supporter: “We’re going to fight for you!! Fight the power!”

22:20: Supporter interrupts with a question. I enable this by giving him the microphone.

Another supporter: “Why are you interrupting him?”

25: He continues speaking. Supporter: “Let him speak! Let him speak! They been experiencing this for 250 years.”

30: I am told by Dicky that they have canceled the next event and we are granted an extra 30 minutes. I stop resisting.

32: He ends by singing a song and some in the audience are seen bawling.


full-res

full-res

full-res

full-res

33:50: His daughter is filming and crying.

35: Debbie The Sane Progressive speaks.

38:00: Debbie: “It’s a fraud. It’s a fraud. It’s a fraud.”

Crowd: “Fraud! Fraud! Fraud!”

39:30: What happened the roll call?

40:15: Richard reviews what happened to trigger the walkout, as he and I discussed on this morning’s bus.

42:45: Gina addresses what happened at the media tent. The supporters stated that “we were waiting!”, apparently not realizing that where we walked out to was still well within the security perimeter, far from FDR Park.

She also clarifies about the police temporarily not letting people in or out of the media tent.

44:45: For the first time, I hear that there was snipers on the roof during the walk out. I believe that they were there for The entire convention. She says they were “aiming at the Bernie delegates”. While arguably true, I think is an exaggeration.

45: Jeff: “I livestreamed the entire walk out which you can see for yourself on Citizens’ Media TV.”

46: According to Ann, the two organizers of the walk out, one for Vermont, were “detained for hours” by the Secret Service. While it’s true that there were no arrests, people were detained “illegally” for hours. This is the first I’m hearing this as well.

48-55: Saleed talks to the crowd.

“What they are doing in there is a scripted television show. What we are doing out here is real democracy.

Show me what democracy looks like!” Crowd: “This is what democracy looks like!”

49:55: Supporter: “We heard your tears! We heard your tears!”

He does this exactly once. It’s not repeated as I expected it to be.

55:45: Debbie the Sane Progressive gets worked up.

Your votes don’t count anymore. We just had this election stolen! I don’t know how many more times I can say it!… They cheated, OK!? … She [Hillary Clinton] doesn’t need your vote! I beg of you!! … They stole it!! This is not real!! They’re pretending!! I beg of you, tell every single candidate that you will not vote for them. You will not get the money. You will not work for them! Unless they address the issue of election fraud!!


full-res

full-res

Kerith and I discuss this in part two of coverage of this event. We strongly disagree with not voting.

58: Jill

59: Michelle discusses how the roll call was silent on a piece of paper in the morning, not perhaps as expected with each individual shouting out their vote.

1:01:30: Jill: Bernie sent an email requesting that we don’t protest.

1:02:20: Moving speech by Richard about how Hillary supporters do not have the passion about her as we do about Bernie.

1:04:00: Crowd: “Bernie! Or Jill! But never! Hill!”

Miguel: “I’ve been waiting my whole life for this moment!”

Miguel offers his credentials to anyone in the crowd who wants them, so they can enter the DNC. Credentials are giving out each morning and are only valid for the current day. It is unlikely that anyone who tried could actually get in, given the time of day and that the president is about to speak. Perhaps if they took them now and rushed over…

I am now so stressed about getting the microphone to Kerith, to give her the time she deserves, before we are kicked off stage.

(The original video goes out of sync with its audio at around this point.)

1:07:05-1:10:30: Kerith closes out the show with a three minute speech.

1:11:05: Stephanie Anders (?), independent Florida candidate running for Congress in Debra Wasserman Schultz’s district. She will indeed be in the general. She created this petition on labeling genetically modified foods.

1:12:45. A supporter (Dana Hall?) asks me (Jeff) if any Bernie delegates voted for Hillary. I don’t know the answer. I suspect a small amount, but the final roll call count will make that clear.

1:14:30: I show the top of the DNC coffin.

1:14:50-1:16:50: Billy Taylor

1:17:05: Jeff: “So let’s talk to the people who actually matter.”

1:18:05: Behind the stage: Kerith is interviewed by Pittsburgh’s WPXI TV.

1:20:20: Kerith and I realize that we cannot go back to the DNC, since Obama is about to speak.

1:20:50: Kerith: “So I can hang out and be in my bare feet for the rest of the damn night.”

Jeff: “And we can talk to real people.”

Leave a Reply

